Exhausted Mom Rant

I love my sons. I love them with every single cell. I love their laughs, their never-ending curiosity, their little voices. I love their ever-evolving language, their sweet kisses, the way they hold my hand. I love that my heart is so full.

But some days I just don’t feel like:

  • Reading one more story
  • Eating the wonky waffle
  • Chasing them around just so I can catch them, have them arch their back, and refuse to have their diaper changed
  • Potty training
  • Explaining why I want some privacy in the bathroom
  • Cutting someone else’s toenails
  • Anticipating, anticipating, anticipating
  • Making sure that the doors are closed, the pantry is secure, and the outlets are covered
  • Feeling sad when I have to leave only to feel guilty while I’m gone only to feel overwhelmed when I get home
  • Doing. One. More. Load. Of. Laundry.
  • Negotiating bedtime
  • Cutting up food to the right size piece and making sure it’s cool enough
  • Stepping on another puzzle piece
  • Waking up at the crack of dawn to a babe who is so clearly not wanting to snuggle in my bed
  • Talking about bowel movements with the man I used to shave my legs for everyday
  • Scheduling, scheduling, scheduling
  • Scheduling, scheduling…you get the idea
  • Washing hands, eating, washing hands, playing outside, washing hands, eating, washing hands, playing outside
  • Meal planning for toddlers who don’t like meat
  • Watching shows that I don’t want to watch
  • Drinking cold coffee all morning because I can’t sit down to enjoy a hot one
  • Wondering if I am doing the right thing
  • Wondering when I will ever truly nap again
  • Packing a bag to leave the house
  • Wondering if I am ever going to feel confident in my abilities as a mom

I love being a mother. I truly love it. Sometimes I just need to say what I am feeling.  I’m thankful that feelings pass, sleep comes, and a new day can bring a fresh perspective. I’m also thankful that I can say what I’m feeling so some of the pressure can be released. Ahhh…that’s better.

Heidi

 


7 responses to “Exhausted Mom Rant

Leave a comment